Les chevaux de Hepburn - 1940 IPM

PEINTURE À L'HUILE

250 s/n tirages en édition limitée

sur papier AF avec une finition semi-brillante

hepburns.jpg

En 1940, Mitch Hepburn était premier ministre de l'Ontario. La guerre était ouverte mais le Concours International de Labour avait toujours lieu. Il était important de remonter le moral, mais surtout de montrer aux gens les méthodes les plus efficaces et les plus productives pour produire de la nourriture pour le front intérieur et à l'étranger.

L'Aviation royale du Canada a utilisé les bâtiments du nouvel hôpital de l'Ontario à St. Thomas pour un centre de formation technique. C'était le site du premier concours international de labour dans le comté d'Elgin.

Les chevaux du premier ministre Hepburn ont mené le défilé d'ouverture. Bill Tapsell, le contremaître de Hepburn était le chauffeur. Le frère de Bill, Dell, a conduit pour Budweiser. Les chevaux figuraient au programme de 1940 pour le Concours international de labour et tous les chevaux étaient récemment champions du Concours mondial de Chicago.

Jenny a apprécié tout le temps et les conseils techniques qu'elle a reçus de Bill Tapsell, de Ken Smith du London Free Press, du personnel serviable du Military Museum et de Johanns Graphics. L'original a été acheté par Paul Hepburn.

La peinture originale de Jenny était 3'x6' sur on" huile sur gesso masonite au sol.

Website Design by

LOGO Black Letters.png

All Artwork on this Website is Protected by Copyright. Contact Jenny Phillips for usage permissions.

Hepburn's Horses - 1940 IPM

OIL PAINTING

250 s/n Limited Edition Prints

on AF paper with a semi-gloss finish

hepburns.jpg

In 1940 Mitch Hepburn was Premier of Ontario. The war was on but the International Plowing Match was still held. It was important to boost morale, but primarily to show people the most efficient and productive methods of producing food for the home front and overseas.

The Royal Canadian Air Force used the buildings of the newly constructed Ontario Hospital in St. Thomas for a Technical Training Centre. This was the site of the first International Plowing Match in Elgin County.

Premier Hepburn’s horses led the opening parade. Bill Tapsell, Hepburn’s foreman was the driver. Bill’s brother Dell drove for Budweiser. The horses were featured on the 1940 program for the International Plowing Match and all the horses were recent champions at the World Competition in Chicago.

Jenny appreciated all the time and technical advice she received from Bill Tapsell, Ken Smith of the London Free Press, the helpful staff at the Military Museum and Johanns Graphics. Original was bought by Paul Hepburn.

Jenny’s original painting was 3’x6’ on ¼”  oil on gesso ground Masonite.